top of page
  • Writer's picturemoriahforbes

Salvaging a Ruined Page in Your Bullet Journal

If you are anything like me, which I'm guessing you are, because why else would you be here, you have an overzealous love of markers. Doesn't everyone? As a perpetual first grader I love to color, and I have no concept of "coloring lightly" or "shading." I chose my journal because it has the thickest pages for the best price, meaning bleed through is less likely (I use this one from Lemome and it's my favorite). Unfortunately, I'm just so enthusiastic with my marker use that sometimes even the thickest of pages cannot protect me.



I went overboard in my journal with markers coloring a border and ended up ruining the reverse page I had already completely finished. This time I lucked out because it was a to do list that I had already checked off, so it was not a big problem if I covered it up. I loved the spread opposite of the list, so I wanted to keep that vibe without having to see the bleed through and be ashamed every time I flipped past that page.

I make a lot of mistakes in my journal and I've already talked about how I use collages to cover up spreads that I didn't finish. I learned another handy trick from Amanda Rach Lee's video "How to Fix Your Bullet Journal Mistakes! (7 WAYS)" that you can glue the pages together to completely hide a messed up page. Sometimes you don't want to be reminded of your mistakes.

A straight up collage didn't seem to match the energy of my anatomy sketch on the other side, and I didn't want to hide the opposite face. I combined my love of markers and my love of collages to make an upgraded quote page instead.



As you can probably tell, I love obsessive, even lines, so even though you can see all of the strokes on the black page, I'm chill with it. I cut a piece of computer paper to size and colored it completely black. Since the background to the sketch was Halsey quotes, I went with another quote from her song "Hurricane" that had been running through my head on repeat.

This page really tested my obsessive nature and my short attention span which are so often at odds. I only wanted straight lines rather than scribbles for that clean look, so I took my big, fat dry erase marker (that I had actually ruined the page with in the first place) to have those dummy thicc lines. I wrote out the quote on the other half of that blank sheet of paper and then cut out every line. Cutting out every letter for "hurricane" definitely pushed me to the limits as I wanted each block to be nearly the same size, but it created a very cool, dreamy sort of feel.

Though my handwriting in the quote is still absolute shit, the spread came out feeling like an inverse of the other page, which I absolutely love. And now I don't have to stare at my panicky list that I made while trying to logic myself out of a downward spiral.

9 views0 comments

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
bottom of page