top of page
  • Writer's picturemoriahforbes

Bujo Weekly Spreads to Maximize List Making

All I ever want to do in life is make lists. To do lists, pro and con lists, any choice to fill up a page with things that I can check off. This past week I had a lot of things I needed to do but not a lot of events. Full page spreads with lots of space for events always make me embarrassed about how infrequently I leave my house. I always want easy spreads that leave me to my own devices of list making. The page below is a result of that recent effort, and I really enjoyed the freedom to write as much as I needed without having to tie a task down to a specific day.



I expanded the list after writing it, but I'll spare you the grossly personal details of my week (Although I did see Rachel Bloom perform on Wednesday and that event did make my whole life worth it). I themed the color scheme around that neon sign photo. I have no idea where I got it from, but it might have been an advert or an art show review from Modern Luxury. I cut it out weeks ago and promptly forgot to use it. It let me add a pretty element to this spread. And let's be honest-- I do not need two full pages of list making. I can afford to use a quarter of that space for a little print detail. I'm not that busy.

(On a side note, I cut the photo too small, thus requiring me to color the background black. I went too hard on the markers, which ruined the page on the back of this. I needed to cover up the fucked up page. To see how I did that, read this post: "Salvaging a Ruined Page in Your Bullet Journal.")


Being as horrendous at math as I am, it took me way longer than I'd like to admit to divide that page into thirds. Each box is 9 dots wide and 12 dots tall, on average (there are 27 horizontal dots and 40 dots vertically, so one set of boxes is slightly taller). The stupid uneven dimension of the dotted pages makes it very hard for my dumbass brain to split it up into even chunks, and although I have made a template page, I still end up confused EVERY TIME.


Don't follow my example on this too closely. Be better at math than I am and just take the spirit of this idea with you. I use this journal from Lemome, and I am just so bad at math that it is possible I ruined these dimensions and I'm unwilling to to change it. This page is the opposite side to one of my pages for the table of contents. Since it is on the lefthand side, it makes it easy to hold it open for reference while I fill out another page. Too bad that it might be incorrect, but it's my journal and I don't care that much.


This journal is also impossible to split into an even number of horizontal dots, so one of my two long lists is chunkier than the other. I used one for my ever-growing to do list and the other to review all of the bras I just bought to see if I like any of them. The nice thing about this is that if I needed an extra list one week, I can use one of the rectangles that I filled with doodles as a list instead. There are plenty of journalers who love to make really in depth weekly spreads, but I just want to write. This spread only required me to do basic math that is beyond my skill level (I was an ENGLISH MAJOR, I haven't taken a math class since 2015) and to use a straight edge for clean lines. You don't need to be an artist to make weekly spreads that look pretty, you just need to swallow your pride and do some math.

2 views0 comments

Kommentare


bottom of page